Entire Pakistan is happy over amended Election Act 2017: CJP Isa


The entire country is pleased with the amended Election Act 2017, which shortened the disqualification time for legislators to five years, according to Chief Justice of Pakistan (CJP) Qazi Faez Isa.

According to the media reports, Chief Justice of Pakistan Justice Qazi Faez Isa remarked on Friday during a hearing of a case related to the disqualification of lawmakers under Article 62(1)(F) of the Constitution that no one has challenged the five-year disqualification law.

The hearing was conducted by a seven-member bigger bench, which was led by Chief Justice Qazi Faez Isa and included Justices Syed Mansoor Ali Shah, Yahya Afridi, Aminuddin Khan, Jamal Khan Mandokhel, Muhammad Ali Mazhar, and Musarrat Hilali.

Also read: Pakistan urges UN to support struggle for self-determination of Kashmiris

Contradictions between the Election Act of 2017 and a previous ruling made by the Supreme Court in response to a petition submitted by former PML-N provincial member Sardar Meer Badshah Khan Qaisrani last month have been brought to the attention of the court. In 2007, Qaisrani contested his permanent ban due to a forged degree. Live broadcasts of the proceedings are available on SC’s YouTube channel and website.

At the previous hearing on Thursday, CJP Isa said that it was “against Islam” to disqualify a lawmaker for life from the parliament. The court was also looking for “clarity” regarding whether a lawmaker’s disqualification period was five years, as per the Election Act 2017 amendment, or a lifetime ban under the same article that deals with the requirements to contest elections. According to CJP Isa, Islam has the answer to this problem.

Referring to a verse from Surah Sajdah which explains that human beings are not bad but their deeds are, CJP said that the Holy Quran mentions that the status of humans is very high. Disqualifying anyone [for life] is against Islam, he added.

One thought on “Entire Pakistan is happy over amended Election Act 2017: CJP Isa

Comments are closed.