New Zealand takes lead in T20 series against Pakistan, wins by 5 wickets

News Desk

New Zealand has won the first Twenty20 international and defeated Pakistan by five wickets at Auckland’s Eden Park on Friday. They ended on 156 for 5 with seven balls to spare after losing the toss and being set a target of 154.

The Black Caps batsman Tim Seifert was the top scorer of the match with 57, while debutant paceman Jacob Duffy took four for 33 and was also named the man of the match.

From Pakistan’s side Haris Rauf was the best bowler, taking three for 29 and a fighting 42 from stand-in captain Shadab Khan.

Pakistan has won the toss and choose to bat first. They have scored 153 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in the first Twenty20 against New Zealand. The innings got off to a shaky start with Pakistan losing four wickets – Abdullah Shafique, Haider Ali, Muhammad Hafeez and Muhammad Rizwan – in the first five overs with just 20 runs on the board.

The acting captain of the team, Shadab Khan gave some stability and anchored the innings, scoring 42 from 32 balls before being dismissed by Duffy.

New Zealand are also without regular captain Kane Williamson, absent after the birth of his first child and without injured fast bowler Lockie Ferguson, man of the series against the West Indies, and veteran batsman Ross Taylor, who was dropped after struggling for form in T20s.

Pakistan’s squad: Shadab Khan (capt), Abdullah Shafique, Haider Ali, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Hafeez, Wahab Riaz, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Khushdil Shah, Imad Wasim, Faheem Ashraf.

New Zealand’s squad: Mitchell Santner (capt), Martin Guptill, Tim Seifert, Jimmy Neesham, Mark Chapman, Scott Kuggeleijn, Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, Ish Sodhi, Jacob Duffy, Blair Tickner.