PSL 8 to be kick off on 13th February: Check out the schedule here


Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 8 will be kicked off on 13th February 2023 and the schedule has also been launched.

According to the details, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) released the schedule of the eighth edition of the PSL event starting February 13.

The PSL season 8 will conclude on March 19 in Lahore after 34 matches played at four stadiums in Karachi, Lahore, Rawalpindi, and Multan.

Also read: Asian Youth Scrabble Championship: Pakistan beat India to clinch the title

Highlights of PSL 2023

PSL opening ceremony will be held in Multan on 13 February prior to the tournament opener between 2021 winners Multan Sultans and defending champions Lahore Qalandars

PSL 2023 closing ceremony and final will be held on March 19 in Lahore

Lahore Qalandars will attempt to become the first side to win back-to-back titles

Islamabad United will aim to become the most successful side by lifting the trophy thrice

Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars, Multan Sultans and Islamabad United will play five home matches each, one against each side

Rawalpindi will stage 11 fixtures, Karachi and Lahore will host nine matches each, Multan will have five home games

Rawalpindi will host the only double-header on 7 March when Peshawar Zalmi will play Lahore Qalandars and Islamabad United will take on Multan Sultans

More than 36 foreign players representing 10 T20I playing countries will be in action in the 34-day, 34-match tournament

T20 World Cup winners Adil Rashid and Matthew Wade, along with Wanindu Hasaranga, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Jimmy Neesham and Tabraiz Shamsi will make their debuts

No.1 ranked Babar Azam will lead 2017 winners Peshawar Zalmi for the first time; Imad Wasim will skipper 2020 winners Karachi Kings; Shadab Khan will captain two-time champions Islamabad United; Shaheen Shah Afridi will captain Lahore Qalandars; Mohammad Rizwan will skipper Multan Sultans and Sarfaraz Ahmed will captain 2019 champions Quetta Gladiators

Shoaib Malik will return to Karachi Kings after six years

Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan will be back for Lahore Qalandars

Alex Hales will represent Islamabad United

Tim David will appear for Multan Sultans

Jason Roy will be in action for Quetta Gladiators while Bhanuka Rajapaksa will feature for Peshawar Zalmi

Schedule of matches (afternoon matches will start at 2pm; evening matches in Karachi, Lahore and Rawalpindi will start at 7pm. Evening matches in Multan will begin at 6pm except for the tournament opener, which will commence at 8pm)