Sadiq Sanjrani defeats Gillani and take oath as Chairman Senate

News Desk

The government candidate, Sadiq Sanjrani has been re-elected as the Chairman Senate and defeated the opposition alliance Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) candidate Syed Yousaf Raz Gillani.

According to details, Sadiq secured forty eight votes out of the total 98 votes polled while Yousaf Raza Gilani got 42 votes and eight votes were rejected.

The re-elected Chairman of the upper house Sadiq Sanjrani took oath as the Chairman Senate for the second consecutive three year term. The oath was asminitered by Presiding Officer Sayed Muzafar Hussain Shah.

Sadiq Sanjrani thanked the Senators after taking oath, who reposed confidence in him and voted in his favour.

Chairman Senate also thanked the entire leadership of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) including Prime Minister Imran Khan for their support. He said that he will continue to take all the Senators along.