154 lawmakers membership suspended by ECP for not submitting asset details

News Desk

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has suspended the the membership of 154 members of the Senate, national and provincial assemblies.

According to media reports, the ECP has made the announcement on Monday, ECP has suspended the mebership of the members because of failing to submit statements of their assets and liabilities.

ECP has suspended the membership of Minister for Science and Technology Fawad Chaudhry, Minister for Inter-provincial Coordination (IPC) Fehmida Mirza, Minister for Maritime Affairs Ali Haider Zaidi and Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui among others.

The Commission has said that the membership of these members will remain suspended until they submit their respective statements.

ECP suspends the membership of scores of lawmakers almost every year for not submitting the statement. The commission suspended 300 lawmakers last year.