China imposes sanctions on 28 Trump allies including Pompeo

News Desk

Over alleged violations of China’s sovereignty and interference in its affairs, Beijing has imposed sanctions on 28 United states (US) figures, who are the allies of former President Donald Trump including former Secretary of State Mike Pompeo.

According to media reports, China has imposed ban on the 28 individuals and their family from entering mainland China, Hong Kong and the autonomous region of Macao. The companies associated with those 28 US figures are also banned from doing business with China.

China has announced the sanctions on the same day Trump’s successor Joe Biden sworn into office.

The Foreign Ministry of China has said in a statement that those blacklisted included anti-China politicians who have displayed selfish political interests and prejudice and hatred against China.

The statement further stated that those listed have contributed to a series of crazy moves which have gravely interfered in China’s internal affairs, undermined China’s interests, offended the Chinese people, and seriously disrupted China-US relations.

The spokesperson of Chinese foreign ministry, Hua Chunying accused Mike Pompeo of venomous lies on Wednesday.

Hua Chunying also called him a doomed clown and a joke of the century after the US official accused China of genocide against Uighur Muslims on Tuesday. Pompeo also urged international courts to hold those responsible for the atrocities accountable.

According to Russia Today, China and US have also recently sparred over a number of other issues, including China’s imposition of its national security law in Hong Kong, the sovereignty of Taiwan, and several trade disputes.